Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Gender Stereotyping

I am currently in my second year of my FDa and I am embarking in a small scale inquiry - here are my thoughts;

I WOULD LIKE TO REQUEST A DISCUSSION, OPINIONS, THOUGHTS ON GENDER STEREOTYPING, specifically the following;

I am looking at my small scale inquiry and I am considering investigating the influence of an all female practitioner setting on how we set up the environment and whether subliminally we set up based on gender?

For example; is the construction area set up with more focus based on boys and the creative area set up for girls? - this is not my opinion just my suggestions.

Also we receive supporting documents for "Engaging Boys in the Early Years" and "A Place to Talk for Boys" but where are the documents for supporting girls?

Do we naturally treat girls and boys differently when engaging them in play?

Please feel free to comment and discuss.

Many thanks in advance

Kelly

At the moment my group is about 75% boys. When planning or setting up I never think about gender, I also think that both genders use the equipment and activities equally. The only time we do experience any difference is for large physical play ie, the majority of the boys need to have a run/physical activity very early in the session before they can settle. The girls we have at the moment do not need this, but they do enjoy being outside and using the bikes throughout the session. It may be totally different with the group next year however!!