Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Using Camcorders To Observe

Hi

I am new to all of this so please bear with me!

Having spent the last week or so trying to digest the new EYFS framework and development matters material,I was just wondering if any one uses camcorders to observe the children in thier setting and if they found this more helpful than written obs.

Thanks to anyone who can offer any advise on this matter

Hi - we use a camcorder to observe the children and find video obs to be really useful. Once recorded we are then able to write up our observations away from the distractions of actually working with the children and have found that we are able to note so much more than when we are writing our observations as we observe the children - this is especially true for noting language and communication and quite often we will see things that we missed in written obs because we were looking at our notepads at the time. The ability to play and replay is also useful as you can really get the whole picture of what is happening.

The downside is that sometimes the children will spot what you are up to and "play to the camera" but they usually get used to it pretty quickly and obs are undertaken in an unobtrusive manner.

Some things to think about - we now start our observations by noting the name of the child that we are observing and the date - when you have 50 to do it makes it easier for each keyperson to find their specific observations. It is also a bit of an exercise to make sure that the observations are loaded up onto laptops for the keyperson to then use but no worse than loading up all the photos too! If you are reasonably computer literate it is simple to run the video and word processing programmes simultaneously and then just pause the video to nip into the word processed document to type up what you have just seen/heard.