Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Sen Help Needed.

Hi,

not sure if you will be able to help me but im at my wits end.. with a situation in my setting.

I have a 4 year old child in my setting who I think is on the autistic spectrum, and dont know how best to support his needs and help him.

parents a refusing any form of outside help, but have allowed me to contact LA who have come into setting and hold the same view as me. after a long slog and numerous meetings parents have agreed to some level of 1:1 and we have recieved funding for this.. but they still wont allow the outreach team to come and assess him. I'm stumped now each week we see a decline in his behaviour, and interactions with the group

I have no prior knowledge or experience in working with a child with these complex needs and am fearfull for his transition into school come september.

Can anyone offer any words of wisdom on how to tackle this, if you have come up against similar scenrios or do you know any good books for me to read... the LA say they are also stuck and cant do anything without parental permission either..

I feel so sad for the child and frustrated at the parents (mum works with children) I cant make her see that i only want the best for her child, and its not for my personal gain but for his benefit.

Thanks

oh dear , i take it you have not said 'autistic spectrum' to mum as this is not professional and we are not in a position to diagnose ( even if we have an idea) , some parents find it very difficult to accept that their child may not be progressing as they should. What does your senco think- i take it he/she is aware .

if parents have finally allowed some intervention (1;1) is there an IEP in place - what behaviour is he showing or not showing , what areas does he need support ?

will he be going to local school , do you have good links with early years teacher there?