Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Burn Out...already?

Hello everyone, it's another moan I'm afraid!

I am a pre-school leader/supervisor/manager whatever you want to call it, and have been in the job for a year. I have plenty of experience having been a childminder and worked in a children's centre previously, and also been in retail managment for many years before this. Now I expected the job to be hard work at first, especially as I had loads of changes I needed to implement to get us up to scratch in the beginning, and believe me I have worked my socks off. The trouble is it never seems to end! I never reach the end of my 'to do' list, and I go to bed at night thinking of all the things I still need to do. I had a big committee issue last week which caused me many sleepless nights (all sorted now), and I tried to go in all positive each day, but by Friday even the parents were asking if I was okay, I looked so rough!

Trying to balance work and home (I have 3 teenagers at home) is a constant battle. Never mind not being able to please all of the people all of the time, I can't please anyone any of the time!

I would really like to ask all you "old hands" who have managed to do the job for years, just how do you do it? When I first joined this forum sokmeone posted about the average burn out time in this job, and they suggested 4 years. I think I'm close to that now. Help!

Also, just to add to it all, I'm starting EYPS in January, and really not sure I can cope with that too, but I really want to do it for myself.