Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Advice Please

Good morning all.

I am a new member. I have been childminding for nearly 3 years and am taking on my first two EYFS children in December. They are 6 months old and 2 years old.

I have started doing my medium planning etc and I have found a downloadable grid for the EYFS learning goals.

My question is how do I record on it? Sorry if this is a daft question but I have no idea whether I just tick the box, date the box or what.

Thanks in advance for any help

Michelle

Dear shellb welcome to the forum ...can i just ask are you sure that this grid is for the development matters statements and not for the early learning goals? the ELG's are for children in their reception year and therfore a bit old for the children you are planning for. :o

oohps spelling mistake

Edited by finleysmaid

Hi ShellB, welcome to the forum

Every County seems to do things a little differently. I had a system that I liked, where I wrote a little comment alongside the statements to say what a child had done or said that gave me 'proof' that this was achieved. All the staff liked them, parents did and although it was time consuming, we found it helpful particularly as we could see a 'value judgement' against the statement. So if a child changed groups at Preschool we could see whether we agreed it had been attained on the basis of the 'proof' or not. Some of the comments were quite anecdotal, one stays in my mind particularly, for a child learning a new word and using it in conversation, "Mum says I'm such a chatterbox, but I'm not really. Do you think I'm a chatterbox? Daddy didn't say so, shall I ask him if he thinks I'm a chatterbox?"

Unfortunately, our County have developed their own system, which is just to highlight the development statements each term to show progression. They didn't want us to continue with our system as they wanted all settings doing the same thing.