Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Would You Have A Problem With The Teacher Telling Your Kid She Was A L

Hello everyone :)

i am studying the course E214 (previously known as E243)

im workin on TMA 02

thought id hear some of the people who have done the above course, their opinions and views on the question below.

any tips, advice, suggestions - will be great help to me :)

ok so the question is relating to Perspectives on equality and diversity, respect, Participation in practice, Boundaries to inclusion etc

This assignment asks you to explore at least one perspective other than your own while demonstrating that you have critically considered the relevant issues raised in the module. In order to maintain the flow of your scenario and the voice of your characters, you can provide the brief critical discussion and evidence of your study in footnotes or by some other form of distinctly separate text.

The footnotes should be short entries that demonstrate critical thinking or evidence of understanding, e.g. ‘Bilingual staff are central to Bangabandhu too – See E214, Unit 11, p. 169 or ‘This statement demonstrates the tension between notions of integration and inclusion’

I HAVE CHOOSEN Scenario 1

Eli is told by her daughter, Mary, who is in year 3, that her teacher has informed the class that she is celebrating a civil partnership with her (female) partner over the summer holiday. Eli is uncomfortable knowing that her daughter’s teacher is a lesbian and feels it is inappropriate for her to share her sexuality with the children. She goes to the head teacher to complain that this is another example of inclusion going too far. The head teacher, Kath, is very proud of the inclusive ethos that has built up in the school. ‘Everyone is welcome here’ is the school motto. She has been keen to build up a diverse staff group within the school and has the reputation of being very supportive of her staff.