Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Operation Shoebox

Rea

I know some people do a shoe box for the troops at this time of year. This is my first year of remembering before the final date. Is a small bottle of wine allowed? I've looked on the web site at all the suggested things to include and what not to but wine isnt mentioned. Its only a small bottle and I was going to wrap it well in bubble wrap. Does anyone know?

Hi Rea,

we did one last year for troops in Afghanistan and I'm 99% certain there was a "no alcohol, no glass" restriction.... we sent rum truffle cakes instead!!

Seem to remember that boxes had to be in by mid November, I'll go and look for the info.

Nona

The children's ones are called 'operation Christmas Child' and is run by Samaritan's Purse. This year they are sending shoeboxes to Haiti. I need to get mine sorted as it needs to be dropped off by November 18th. Also need to find a local collection point to me.

I know they ask for these boxes, but I am always wary about anything this time of year and would rather donate than think about sending to troops.

My reason? they get inundated with these items at this time of year and the soldiers own families try to send a box to a loved one which does not always get there in time .. too much all sent at the same time causes distribution and issues with getting the items out..

not sure if I explained it well but I do think it is a time for families to get their items sent as a priority and I know it doers not always happen with so much going out at the same time..

Inge

The interesting things that we've been asked for are cheap boxer shorts, and small, soft paintbrushes. Apparently soldiers go out for weeks at a time and don't have the opportunity to change their undies so use cheap boxers as disposables. And the paint brushes are to remove sand from their gear.

Odd what can be considered luxuries.

Honey