Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Assessing Writing

:o hi,

i've been a member for a while now and this is my first post. i've been trying to get my head round something but am struggling and thought.....i know just the people to ask...you folks. i hope you can help.... xD

i am a reception teacher, and i've been collecting samples of the children's writing at various intervals as required by our literacy co-ordinator. at present i've been 'levelling' the pieces according to the stepping stones/ELG's rather than just putting a meaningless w for working towards. should i be doing this or should i be using the P-scales. my understanding was the P-Scales should be used for SEN children making very little progress on the profiles. am very confused....please help. i would be very grateful to know what others are doing and what you use.

thank-you.

Hi

You're right p-scales are for sen children who are working below level one of the National Curriculum. If the children are in Reception they are still part of the Foundation Stage curriculum and so should be using ELG's. P scales should not be used for FS even wuth sen children. However I think it would be best to check with your HT. There has been a recent thread on this subject you may want to take a look at.

Hi funnyf and welcome to the Forum! :D

As mousebat mentioned, the p scales have been discussed recently in a couple of conversations. You can find the last one here, and it has a link to the second one contained within it. :)

I've got a useful sheet at home thta splits the ELGs and SS into level W1-W5 thtas what we use for assessment for literacy numeracy and science...its difficult and i do assess on the FSP too but to keep in line with the rest of the school it works. tey are on my home computer i think! I'll add them tomorrow as i'm still at school waiting for governors meeting at 7.30pm,..supposed to be working!!

thank you all for your reassurance! sarah it would be really useful to look at your sheet.