Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Comment Found In Our Suggestion Box

Bare with me, this is only my 2nd post and Im not very good with words....Here goes:

Basically my setting (Fulldaycare 3months-8years) is just off a main street. There is a front courtyard, then a downstairs like foyer area. You then have to go up the flight of stairs to get to our actual nursery door which is also bolted shut. We use the front courtyard as a garden and the foyer has displays etc as it is still part of our nursery. The foyer is where the parents leave pushchairs as they can't get them up the flight of stairs (We are moving premises in 12 months time) to the nursery. We also have a comments box in the foyer and on the same table is photo albums of previous nursery children and recent activities the children have been up to.

We checked the comments box today and there was an anonymous note saying:

'I have just walked in off the street. I could have stolen the pushchairs without anyone knowing and I have instant access to children's photos.I work in a childrens centre and we are very health and safety conscious..I love how friendly and open you are but am not sure this will pass ofsted.'

Firstly, Ofsted have never said anything about the buggies being left there (the parents are aware upon the induction that they leave the pushchair there at their own risk and can bring them upstairs if they like but they choose not to) and secondly, when the parent fills in the welcome pack they sign a disclaimer to say that they give permission for their child's photo to be used in newspapers, videos, learning journeys, advertising leaflets etc.

Basically what i'm asking is- is this a problem that we need to take action to correct? I am quite upset that another childcare professional made this comment yet failed to have a verbal conversation with us about it given the 'seriousness' of the comment made. What are your views?

Thankyou

Nat

Hi