Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Register Format

Hi,

We are a new setting about to open in September. It's all getting a bit too real!!

Just wondering about the register in a Pre-school setting. I am a teacher so am used to using the official blue school registers however do not particularly want to use one of those in pre-school, although I know lots of people do but I find it a bit confusing when you have got different children every day and don't want to be calling out all the names.

I actually don't really want to be calling out any names at all at this stage if I can help it.

We are doing a timed sign-in sheet and sign-out for all the children's parents to fill in and also a self registration board for the children.

My questions are: Are you legally required to do registers in those blue book formats or can you make your own consisting of separate sheets in a file?

And what is the actual requirement as far as taking a formal register? Can it be done by an adult marking children in without calling out names?

I know there are pros to sitting down and listening for your name, answering etc but I'd like to try it a different way to begin with to free up as much time as possible for other play and activities.

What do other people do?

Thanks.

Hello, in the pre-school where I work we have daily parents sign in/out sheets, which we pre-print with children's names (which makes it easy for us to see who is due in each day), children also self register (using name tags on their coat hooks that they hang up in main room) and then leader fills in county council register when all children have arrived. County council register allows easy totalling up of absences and viewing of children's attendance over a length of time (may be needed for funding issues). So no calling out of names as there is no need. You may find that different county councils may have their own rules as to what format they recommend.