Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Management Time

Hello everyone, I'm new to the Foundation Stage Forum but very happy to be here.

I need your advice and experience to help me. I'm finding it really difficult to complete all of my managment paper work in my half day management time a week. As a result I come home most evenings and complete it all then. For example: timetables, rotas, FSU action plans. Concerned that I will burn out soon though xD How much management time do other Foundation Stage Co-ordinators or Senior teachers get? :o

I don't get any at all and my HT tells me that management time is outside directed time. I don't think she is right and I'm ringing my union today, as like you I just feel completely burnt out. Thank goodness it's Christmas with time to sleep! :D

As I'm a Nursery Nurse, not a teacher, I can't really comment on your immediate situation, but want to offer support!

I think we all have far too much paperwork these days, it's no easier for Senior NNs, or whatever setting you happen to be in. When I led a Pre-school it was the same (if not worse, because no one else wanted to help out, they weren't paid enough!!). I continued to take everything home with me until earlier this year, when my Manager got really cross with me, she almost started searching me on the way out! Her point was that I was far more use to her in the Nursery doing what I did best, than working myself to death in the 'wee small hours'. If the paperwork was that burdensome, she'd find me a bit more non-contact time somehow!! I suppose I'm fortunate that I have a Manager like her, she also helped to stop the niggles and spats at home because I was always too busy for a life!

I know that's not been terribly helpful, but I do understand where you're coming from, please take care, it's so easy to be swamped!!

Sue :D