Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Swine Flu

blondie

I think you should try to be realistic about this and not get drawn into the media frenzy that is going on designed to scare us all to death. Unless you, your staff or any of the children or families have recently visited or been in contact with anyone who has visited mexico I think there is little to be concerned about. I have a sister in law who has family in mexico and it is obviously a serious and anxious time for them. However personally I think the press are just using it as an opportunity to draw attention away from the economic "crisis"?

What do others think?

Hi blondie

I'm afraid I cant comment from a professional childcare provider point of view as I am only a student, but my sis-in-law was at docs today with her dad and to cut a long story short, the conversation turned to swine flu.

This doctor is very concerned about swine flu. She has 2 young children, aged 3 and 4, and is seriously considering sending her children down to live with her mum in a remote part of southern Ireland. She feels that as she is on the front line there is a good chance that she could pass this virus on to her children and does not want to take any chances.

She also said that they had been prepared for this for a number of years and that it is inevitable that it goes global and becomes a pandemnic (sp?).

Is this doctor panicking because she has 2 young children or is she looking at it from a professional point of view???

My other sis-in-law visited another doctor yesterday and asked, in passing, what the doctor thought about it and the doctor thought it was a serious issue and advised her to get a stock of canned foods in, as if it does take hold, people will be reluctant to visit public places e.g. shops.

Sorry to be the bearer of doom and gloom, but I am just passing on what I have heard from both my sis-in-laws today.