Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Starting A Setting

Hi

this is one for the owners out there.

been thinking of starting own day nursery. very early stages, just in head at moment, but was interested to see how much it cost you to set up, and you views and stories on it. Did you buy the premises or just rent??

many thanks :o

ice

I am on that road at the moment. I have found some land to lease and am now looking into portacabins. I was advised (on here - thanks!) to speak to my local childcare development officer and she was really helpful. What do you do know, what things are already in place for you i.e. my staff are coming with me so that's one big tick in the box. Keep us posted with all your progress.. I love following success stories!

Im a manager in a nursery and regional manager to 3 more. With the type of work i do, i feel i have lots of experience and it would be nice to put my name to something and build something up for myself rather than an owner with no interest, inless they get more money from it!!! :o

I want to be an owner who has a general interest in the nursery!

I bought my nursery 5 years ago. It was a failing nursery when it was put up for sale. I leased it for the first 3 years and then bought the premises.

As an owner who was an experienced teacher (15yrs) before buying my nursery I can honestly say that you can't be in it for the money! I earn about 2/3 of what I was earning as a teacher, I work more hours than I did as a teacher (and that's a lot). I take 3 weeks holiday a year (instead of 13). But I love it more .... It's mine .... I feel the staff are part of an extended family ... The children are what it's all about. But please please please don't do it for the money!

pw x

Hi