Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Ofsted Childminder Initial Vist

Hi

I'm Carla and I'm new to thi forum! Just wondered if anyone can help. Next week I am due to be visited by an OFSTED inspector in order to become a registered childminder. Was just wondering what to expect? What will he/she ask me? Will they want to see my policies and do I have to show examples of planning? I did the pre registration childmiding course three years ago and the new EYFS hadn't started then. How much detail do you think they will go into?

Thanks in advance

Carla :o

Hi Carla

I'm in pre-school so I can't answer your query - but I just wanted to welcome you to the Forum. Congratulations on making your first post and I'm sure lots of childminders will be along to share their experiences of their intial Ofsted visit!

Maz

Hi Carla

welcome to the forum

I had my intial inspection 6yrs ago so can't quite remember but it was quite brief and my practice has improved massively since then. Not even sure if I had written policies at that time and certainly didn't do any planning - aah those were the days :o

Will have children on roll as I know that makes a difference to the grade you are given.

hope someone with more upto date info will come along and advise

best wishes

When Ofsted come to do your initial assessment, 9 times out of ten, most people havent even had any initial training, i know i didnt. I had my visit the day of my first training night. The only thing that i had out in place was the safety aspect ie plug sockets, fire guard etc. She basically ensured that my house and the surroundings were safe and secure and that i understood what would be expected of me for the future. She advised me what courses i needed to be booked on and told me how many i would be registered for according to the size of my house.

She will also ask you which rooms you want to register and will look at them. If you dont, for example, have your bedroom registered, she will not look in it.