Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Advice Required Please

Hi

I'm a nursery teacher ,struggling with contradictory advice . Can anyone out there send me their time table of how long one spends doing adult led/adult initiated/ child initiated work with the children in a 2 1/2 hour session? :o

Hi shyla, welcome aboard! :o

It's so difficult when you get lots of confusing advice, isn't it!

I'm in a daycare setting, but probably the approach is the same these days. We work largely in a completely child-led way. We have abandoned topics, although we do mini ones around festivals etc, and find that we can develop and enhance children's play so that lots of learning can be included, while the children engage well in activities because they are effectively 'calling the shots'. This means, of course, that I can't send a timetable!

I realise in a school there will be some requirement for a focus activity, but I would just have one a day, set in a context close to children's current interests, the rest of the day being free play with enhancements. Well, as much as possible - of course you have different literacy and numeracy requirements to me!

Has that been any help?

Please let us know how you get on, and come back with queries as much as you like! xD

This article might be helpful?

Sue

Hi there Shyla, welcome aboard.

Are you a nursery teacher in a school? Sometimes there are constraints and demands of being in a school environment are different from those that are in other settings, so it would be helpful to know if this is your situation.

Would you be able to give us an idea about how things are working for you now? How many staff and children do you have?