Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Staffing

Hello everyone, I've just been looking at some of the discussions about flexible hours and offering 15 hours per week. I wonder if anyone could help me with a legal point. I work in a school nursery as the nursery teacher and I'm fortunate enough to have a full time nursery nurse which is currently job shared by 2 people and for 3 days a week an NVQ3 trainee. If we extended our current 2.5 hours sessions (9.00 - 11.30 and 11.45 -3.15 to fit with school times) by offering lunch at school would the children be able to be supervised by an unqualified mealtime assistant for those half hours? Also as we are in a fairly deprived area would children be entitiled to free school meals? I have a meeting with our head teacher to discuss the issues tomorrow and I'm trying to think of as many suggestions and implications as possible. Thanks in advance if anyone can help.

As I understand it, you can only class the lunch hour as part of the NG paid entitlement if you can prove the educational element by showing your planning for learning over this time. I think that you need to have qualified staff there all the time, but you may be able to be 'within earshot' as long as the people who are with the children have an enhanced CRB check.

We did the lunch as part of the educational session and had to have learning goals the whole lot like a normal session

the paperwork was awful as it had to be separate but still like a session. also the staff had to be qualified to level 3 had to have one of my leaders on all the time, couldn't leave a junior member. Also we weren't allowed to just leave the children to eat we had to make it a proper educational session. You can only say so much about sandwiches!!!