Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Its Worksheets Again!

HappyMaz

Use of worksheets in pre-school  

142 members have voted

1. 1. Has your setting used worksheets during this academic year?

• Yes
    • No
  2. 2. Which statement best describes your group?

• Childminder
    • Full day care
    • Pre-school/Playgroup with extended care
    • Reception class
    • Sessional Pre-school/Playgroup

I've never done this before, and don't really know what I'm doing - so please be gentle with me.

My dissertation for my BA is about worksheets and their use with pre-school settings. I wonder if you would be prepared to help generate some statistics about the numbers of settings who use worksheets? At this stage I don't need to know what your feelings are about whether worksheets should or shouldn't be used in pre-school - just whether or not your setting uses them!

Your responses will help me compare those I get from groups in my Borough, so that I can get some perspective as to whether the results are likely to be representative. Not very scientific, but it will give me some data!

Perhaps I should give my definition of a worksheet. I'm thinking of the kind of activity where a child is asked to colour in every picture that begins with a certain letter, or to colour in a certain number of dots on a ladybird, or to follow a series of wavy/wiggly lines with their pencil. I would also include sheets with dotted letters to trace over to encourage correct letter formation. However, I am not thinking of a writing frame, or a telephone message pad for use during role play, or a picture that children can colour in, or decorate with collage materials.

Many thanks in advance...

Maz