Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Notice On Inspection

Gezabel

Hi

I work in a small pre school and we have been notified that we are due to have our first combined inspection this month. As we are a small setting this creates potential staffing difficulties. I work as a part time deputy but to ensure that my manager is free to give her time to the Inspectors I have to work full time for this month as we have no idea which day the inspectors will arrive. This of course incurs extra financial expense in terms of my increased wages. In addition we have declined the offer of a place on a training course - again, "in case" the inspector turns up that day.

I am not suggesting a vast amount of notice but the inspectors must plan their workload and someone somewhere knows when he/she is due to visit my setting.

I have been prompted to post this message having spoken to an early years teacher who has been notified four weeks in advance of the exact date of her inspection even down to the precise time the inspector will arrive! This is also the case with a colleague working in a day nursery.

I wonder why pre-schools are treated differently? Any ideas welcome!!

Yes it is unfair I know exactly what you mean Geraldine. Are their any days that other users have your premises promptly after you finish.. Are there any days that you have any planned visitors e.g. new parents, early years visitors. Have you already planned to take the children out and already arranged parental help. Do you have any staff meetings at the end of the session. On my last inspection I wrote down which days were not convenient. As my hall is used on a Tuesday and a Thursday immediately after the session this would allow no time for discussion at the end of the session. Out of that month I had already pre-arranged a few things for the other 2 days I had a good idea when to expect a visit. Inspectors don't seem to like Fridays.

Hi Geraldine and welcome to the forum! :D