Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Planning-To many to choose from

Hello all, I'm getting a bit overwhelmed with planning.

Just wondering how you manage all of the paperwork for planning, there are so many different kinds which ones do you use and how do you do this. Some examples would be useful.

🙃

🙃Long term planning, short term planning, weekly planning, in the moment planning, continuous provision planning, activity planning, schema plans plus many many more

Hello Jenny

As a retired Preschool Manager, I can say that I’ve tried many, many ways of planning over the 25years.  I found it very variable, and what worked with one group of children didn’t always work with another.  I don’t think there’s any hard and fast rule, as long as there’s some evidence of planning, and you can justify and explain your methods properly.   
Hours can be spent planning, only to find that it’s not in the direction that the children want to go at all!   
My children had individual plans, based on what I considered were their next steps in learning, and as long as I could tie that into whatever direction we ended up going, and show good progression, then I didn’t worry too much about it.   
Of course, I’ve been retired for 6 years now, and things will have moved on.  Hopefully though, children’s progression has stayed the same.   

• Like 1

Hi Jenny, like Cait I’ve been around the block and back again with planning formats and have now ripped up the lot and do no paper planning as such or not as far as long, med, short goes, no planning meetings either.