Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Independent study topic ideas

Hi, I am currently in my final year of BA (hons) early childhood studies. I have elected to do an independent study module and would like some topic suggestions or to hear your thoughts on the following topics and how I could possibly focus them?:

• two year olds in maintained nursery’s (do they have a place)
  • early intervention (giving children the best start)
  • Care vs education
  • language and literacy
  • early childhood pedagogues/teaching

The assignment brief is to write a 4000 word essay which critically analyses a body of relevant literature around a students chosen topic area.  Many thanks for your guidance. 

As an immediate thought, the plural of 'nursery' is 'nurseries' and I think that one is a good one to go for.   I feel that the other ones have probably been done many times, but the issue of two year olds in maintained settings is very current.  Many preschools and playgroups seem to be closing down because maintained settings are encouraging parents to put their children into nurseries, where often they are not ready for that environment.   I'd be interested to read any 'pros', as from my perspective, it all appears to be 'cons'!    Very young children have been in PVI settings for decades and it has long been held that this is the best place for them, next to their own homes.  It will be interesting to see, down the line, if these smaller environments have any influence on physical development, especially in light of the article about activity posted on here just recently.   

• Like 2

5 hours ago, Cait said:

It will be interesting to see, down the line, if these smaller environments have any influence on physical development, especially in light of the article about activity posted on here just recently.