Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Dealing with staff sickness

Hi,

I am a manager of a 70 place day nursery with a staff team of 15. I don't really know any other nursery managers so hoping you guys have some wisdom to share

How do you deal with staff who are repeatedly being signed off work for stress/depression. I have a particular part time member of staff who got signed off for 2 weeks for the first time in September 2014. In the last year I have changed her working hours to fit in better with her son, and I also changed her area of work and who she works alongside, as these were things which she claimed were adding to her stress. I have helped her out with childcare costs and I have been paying her as a fully qualified when she is actually still training for level 3. I feel like I've moved mountains to try and make her happier and less stressed but nothing is working

She has just been signed off for 2 weeks with the same thing and then I got a Facebook message on Friday afternoon to tell me she's been back to the doctors and been signed off for a further 4 weeks

How can I handle this. It's putting pressure on the rest of the team as we are having to work harder to fill her job role. I can get temp staff in to cover but as they don't know the routine and the children they are limited to how much they can help the other staff.

I've rang ACAS and they've said I should try and support her with changing conditions to make her return to work and life in general less stressful but I don't know what else I can do. Surely it's getting to the point now where I've given her reasonable time and made reasonable adjustments but when it comes down to it, she is simply not able to fulfil her job role.

I promise I do try to be nice and supportive but sometimes feel I'm being taken the mickey out of ?

Any words of wisdom?