Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Interview questions

Hi All

Following on from a previous thread earlier in the week about my setting only having 2 staff each session, I have decided to employ an extra person for our most busiest session of the week (its all we can afford at the moment). We hope this will also help if one of us is ill or on a course etc. as she can cover for us.

I had previously advertised for bank staff and had 1 reply so I have decided to interview her first. She qualified last year to level 3 and lives local to the setting.

What key questions would you ask on the interview?

I've never done an interview before as I opened my setting with a friend.

Also, does anyone know how I go about getting her a DBS check done? I previously used TMG to do CRBs.

Thanks

I generally ask safeguarding, planning, children's development questions.

Could you start with offering a temporary contract, so that if you don't have enough children / person doesn't work you can part company at the end of period e.g. 6 months

You probably already know what qualities you are looking for so why not start there?

• Like 1

we ask about safe guarding, planning ,next steps for children, working as part of a team, what do they know about the setting and its ethos, how deal with inappropriate behaviour - cant remember what else - holiday brain

Edited by blondie
  • Like 1

you should ask questions about equal opportunities,,,part of being an equal op employer.

If you have written a job description then your questions should be based on this. remember to put in a trial period (so you can review and get rid if not working!) I always get them to come in and work with the children..observe them and then make a decision after that. I have had some people who are fab on paper but not on the job.

difficult to give you specific questions as i dont know how you operate and what is important to you...so for us we always have questions about sen/eal and behaviour.