Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

HELP!

Please can someone advise? There appears to be conflicting information in the Statutory Framework with regard to Staff: child ratios.

I am a teacher working in a maintained nursery unit (morning sessions). I also work afternoon sessions which are run as pre-school sessions with a change of staff. In the morning I have a nursery nurse and level 3 TA and the afternoons vary depending on numbers - I sometimes work with a level 3 TA, sometimes with a level 2 TA and sometimes with both.

I have a 'Welfare Review' meeting arranged next week and have been looking through the CC Welfare Review Tool; on checking the Statutory framework I found ...

3.32 For children aged three and over in registered early years provision operating between 8 am and 4pm where a person with Qualified Teacher Status, Early Years Professional Status or another suitable level 6 qualification (which is full and relevant) is working directly with the children:
• there must be at least one member of staff for every 13 children; and
• at least one other member of staff must hold a full and relevant level 3 qualification.
From this I understand that when I work with my level 2 TA (two p.m. sessions per week) I am not working within the Statutory Framework. There have been discussions about this and my level 2 TA is not happy about working toward level 3. The Headteacher has looked into this and the advice he has been given from Early Years (taken from the Statutory Guidance) is as follows ...