Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Highchair tray play for babies

Hi!

I'm doing my EYP placement with babies at the moment and I'd like to put together some highchair tray activities for the 8 month old. The staff put out trays of interesting dry stuff for exploration but on the floor where the toddlers tip it up and empty it out. Little chap doesn't get a look in!

I have very little baby experience and am worrying about the health and safety aspect of highchair tray play given that little chap is bound to eat whatever is put in his tray.

If I make playdough, isn't the salt bad for him?

If I make jelly, isn't that bad for him because of the sugar content or the artificial sweetener content?

I thought about Cheerios but surely he shouldn't be eating them yet either!!!!!

I'd really welcome any suggestions and advice. What do you all give to your babies for tray play? (is that the real name for this type of sensory activity or have I made it up! I like it - nice rhyme - tray play)

Thank you all

Yes thank you all - I thought a little more about this and decided baby yoghurt with a splash of food colouring might work well and also had the baby rice idea and I do like the couscous idea.

Do nurseries/childminders write policies about this type of play - maybe more of a risk assessment type thing? I saw a risk assessment document about Treasure baskets the other day and it made my wonder if this is standard practice across all settings.

Great ideas already Pafandral! Risk assessments give you the opportunities to try exciting things with children. As for messy play with babies, you can offer them any foods they have already tried before, mix with a bit of water, puree it and fill up the tray and you are well on your way! ^_^