Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

charity status to limited company

katblondy1

Would like some advice/thoughts on how to move on from being a committe led community playgroup to the playleader and deputy taking over the running of the setting.

Our committee are really not interested and have not been motivated for some time, we feel that we are being let down by them. We had an outstanding Ofsted 4 years age and they are due anytime, we want to maintain the high standard but feel we can't continue with this commitee.

Has anyone on the forum taken over their setting?

What does it involve?

Any advice/help on how to do this would be appreciated

I took over a setting but not as a limited company. I am a sole trader. Do you have a reason for wanting to become a limited company or could you and your colleague become a partnership? I'm not sure what the implications are of becoming a limited company, but I think there are pros and cons either way. I would seek the advice of an accountant and/or solicitor before taking the plunge. Sorry not be be more informative. Someone will probably be along with more of an idea about limited companies.

Thanks for you reply. Can 2 people become sole trader? Myself and my deputy want to take over the running together, we have worked well together for a number of years. Our committee really are dire!! We do all the work anyway and they really have no clue about childcare or how to run a setting. We have just been looking on the charity commission website, not much help on there.