Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Cleaning

Guest 2580

aaarrgghh I want to scream and thank goodness its Friday

Im pretty new to my role as a deputy/manager to be soon... so I would really appreciate some advice and help!

We are a fairly small nursery and dont have a cleaner

Certain members of the staff team have this huge problem over cleaning-despite having a cleaning rota in place which is self explanatory they cant seem to organise themselves- some even think its more important than being with the children and updating paperwork! (I suspect so they can get home on time!)

I have a rule that no cleaning starts before 5 (we are open until 6) and before starting cleaning they have to make sure they have updated they days paperwork. This seems fair to me.?

my arguement is that if they are keeping their rooms tidy during the day (some even take that to the extreme!) they wouldnt have so much to do at the end of the day, ie if children spill paint on the radiator we clean it off while its wet from experience the children love to help with a water spray and a cloth. All they would need to do is hoover a rug and mop the floor?

So at the end of the day theres this huge rush they whizz round dont do cleaning properly, For example I pulled a wheelable unit out and there loads of toys behind it- I then ask them to sort it out they get the hump! But they've already signed to say they have done this.

Im letting off steam typing this so it probably makes no sense!

Can you explain do you have 1 person who is rotad onto clean, do your staff do their own rooms, do you stay after closing to do cleaning, any ideas and suggestions would be good thanks.

Sorry for going on

didn't want to read and run but I could have written this word for word!

you have my sympathies; we go round in circles with it - we even got a cleaner for a while and everyone stopped even tidying up! (needless to say the cleaner didn't stay long!)