Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Home Visits

Hi everyone. This is my very first post on this forum, so go easy on me ;-)

I am the teacher in a 62 place Nursery attached to a school. I've replaced an experienced teacher (14 years of service) who was very good at managing the nursery. As a recently qualified teacher, I have very little experience of managment - so this has been the biggest challenge for me.

My headteacher is very supportive and willing to allow me to try out new approaches. One of these approaches has been not to do home visits this year. I must admit the primary reason for this has been logistical - going round to 62 new homes is not a quick process. Additionally, however, I felt that it would be a good opportunity for the parents to bring their children into the setting and meet all of the staff before they come for their transition day in June.

I had an interesting conversation with my Mum last night though, which has made me question this decision. She believes it is a really good way to engage parents and makes teachers seem more approachable. I must admit I'm beginning to feel as though I'm in my comfort zone at school, whereas it's sure to be a daunting place for new parents.

To cut a long story short, I wondered what others opinions are on home visits - do you do them, how do you do them, and if you don't do them how do you induct your new children?

Thanks,

Mark

Hi Mark and welcome to the forum.

I think I remember this being discussed recently. type 'Home visits' into the search box at the top right hand side of the screen and it will come up. ;)

Hi Mark - Welcome to the Forum! :1b

You can find a couple of conversations here and here just to get you kicked off. Hopefully someone will be along at some stage to comment on your perspective, but it's a little quiet here today - could the sunshine have anything to do with this I wonder?