Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Help Needed Re: Planning

Hi all, hope you're well.

I've got myself very confused and am hoping someone can help.

I'm very new to childminding and have recently taken on a 14mth old. The problem is, I have no idea where to start with planning and what I need to document or how to document it.

How and where do you all document your planning and observations?

The whole EYFS is still very new and I feel totally overwhelmed by it all to be honest....

If any of you can help with any examples of planning or any advice I would very much appreciate it.

Thank you all in advance!

to start just observe your little one and see where their intersts lie and what they like to do - then look at your eyfs and look at whith what your child is doing where they are - from there you will be able to look at where to take them next... and try to do that around thier interests eg cars, dinosaurs, telly character etc - i have a very simple observation sheet i use with my childminders but am not at work till monday to send to you - just remind me on Monday ;)

Thanks hali. You make it sound so simple! lol! I think I've got myself all worked up. I'll message you Monday.

Thank you again for replying

xxx

Ever since I started using PRAMS (available from this forum) I began to understand the purpose and practice of making observations. PRAMS produces reports which help me to know what else to observe and gives me a simple place to write my observations up. I am truly dreadful at filing and this keeps me straight. If you are in any way technically inclined, I would thoroughly recommend it.

Best of luck with which ever method you choose.

Honey

Hi

There are a couple of articles re assessment/observation that you can find from the front page here