Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Toileting Issue - Advice...

Ok can you wise souls help? :o

I am new to Nursery having been in FS2 and above previously. We are a maintained Nursery so all our children are rising 4 (start the term after third Birthday). we have a an afternoon session child who is (sorry here for tmi) pooing in her pants at least twice an afternoon! we have decided she saves them up? xD Perhaps she has been told off for this at home, or clearly not toilet trained properly... either way it is becoming a serious issue for staff.

We have spoken to mum and pointed out this is not acceptable and she need to help her daughter to understand she needs to go to the toilet... Mum seems to think that we should be observing her continuously and when she looks like she is 'going' we should encourage her to go to the toilet! Hmmm.... well that just isn't feasible with our ratios and the layout of the room

So what are your policies in a situation like this?

Call mum in every time to change her? Ask her not to attend till she is 'clean' for the majority of the time? Not sure where to go next with this one.. so calling on your experience and wisdom folks!

Thanks Kaz

I thought that they had to be toilet trained to attend school or nursery? That what i was told.

If it was me I would call mum in to change her, not to take her home but bring clothes, wipes etc every time. She will get sick of coming in so might do some proper training.

Is it possibiliy that the parents dont know what to do to train her?? if you can ask parent ..... Do you want some support with this? she might dare not to ask without a push. Sit down togehter and divise a plan that is fair for all and explain that you cannot 1:1 this child with so many other children with needs.

Tell her you will help her is she helps you too lol