Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Decided To Go Into Childminding

Last year I went to a childminding information evening but at that particular time I was not in the right frame of mind to pursue it any further due to a change in family life and with work commitments.

However now my circumstances have changed dramatically and I have taken steps to go on the next introduction to childminding course, my husband and I are in discussion to convert our garage into a playroom (something we had discussed anyway) so that I have a work space.

I am very experienced in the EYFS so that bit doesn't worry me and I worked as a nanny so I have experienced home based care (though I appreciate there is a difference in nannying and childminding) I'm worried about all the policies and paperwork more so!

Oh and the Ofsted!

I am a bit worried that there are A LOT of childminders in my town, I know this cos I rang a load up when I was trying to arrange short term provison for my daughter. They all seem to know each other and have quite a strong network which is very good and the ones I visited were really big business CMs, with sign written minibuses and 14 children on their books. I'm not into a big setup I really want to earn enough to cover our bills while being with my child and caring for other peoples children in a cosy home environment. I think this is because the CM I was using is a small set up and this is one of the things that appealed to me.

I have a few questions though-

1) As I mentioned there is a strong network of CMs in my town, will they accept a new girl on the block?

2) I want to keep my provision for under fives as I don't want to be piling children into cars 3 times a day to do pick ups, will this severely restrict me? I am happy to do walking school/nursery runs and the odd pick up in the car but I don't like the idea of constantly driving around :o