Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Would You Pay The Same?

Interested to know, would you pay these two people the same hourly rate?? (It's a committee run playgroup with 26 children and 6 members of staff)

Employee 1 - Just gained Level 4 and committed to 5/6, 8 years experience in setting (6 as an employee), extra responsibilities for coordinating key person work and learning stories across whole setting, proven track record as capable and responsible practitioner, age 43 and parent of 3

Employee 2 - Level 3, age 17, just starting out after doing level 3 at sixth form

??

I'd love to know what you think.

Karen

Well, that depends on how many payscales you have!!

In a perfect world Employee 1 would be paid more as a more experienced and longer standing member of staff with provedn capabilities.

When I worked as an LSA there were 4 bands to each payscale 1 - not passed probation 2 - entry level 3 - next level 4 - very competent

No - they would be different...

We would have paid the same basic wage as they will probably both be employed at level 3..

but where we could afford it there were small enhancements for years of service, and added responsibilities..

age and home circumstances should not have any bearing on the wage/income.. except of course there could legally be a wage level for under under 18 and another under 21... as minimum wage for those age groups is less...

As others have said, in an ideal world staff member one would be paid more due to level of qualification, responsibility and time served. However it isn't an ideal world and in my setting currently they would be paid the same unless one of them was the manager or deputy. On the other hand, we don't pay our under-21-year-old member of staff at the age related pay level as she works just as hard as everyone else and we feel it would be unfair.

Hi