Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Starting Up A Nursery

Afternoon,

I have a little problem that I know many of you will be able to solve!! I am a reception teacher and have a limited knowledge and understanding of nursery settings so I hope you can help.

My school is situated next to a village hall which houses a pack away nursery for ch aged 2-5. It has recently been sold and the two new buyers are keen to build on the relationship with the school. I met with them last week and this is where my problem starts - I think they have been mis sold the nursery as the seller was keen to get rid of it and I feel they are going into this new venture with no idea on how hard it will be.

What exactly do you need to open a nursery - setting is sorted but what about qualifications of staff (they have none - not ever even been involved with children before), do they have to get Ofsted credidtation? what about planning? (one comment from one of the buyers was: 'they don't learn much at that age!) - they were not aware of the EY curriculum, phonics etc - where should they start!!! I have a meeting with them next week - and feel that I need to prepare them for whats ahead - I get the impression they are going to try and run it like playgroups from olden days!!!

thanks in advance

I think they are in for a big shock... unless they open for less than 2 hours a day they must be registered with Ofsted..

I assume the setting was already registered with Ofsted before they bought it.. but they would then have to contact them for change of ownership and registered person...

and then comes all the mountains of things they will need to do.. all is in the EYFS document which is currently the one being used but under review.. however it will probably not change much.. it is all in there.