Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Changing From Pre-school To Day Nursery

I have been hunting for premises to move into with the idea of starting up as a day nursery for birth to school age rather than a term time pack away pre-school that we are now. I am getting very excited now that I am getting closer to finding somewhere but before I speak to the owner of the building I want to have a bit more idea of what running a day nuresry entails!

Has anyone ever made this change before? I've had some experience working in a baby room when I did my EYPS but actually owning and running a day nursery with linger hours than I'm used to must be very different!

Has anyone got any advice?

thanks x

I just want to say goodluck. You have the drive and the passion and that is generally what you need to take you forward.

I have experience of working in both. I am currently a pre-school leader but prior to that I worked in a day nursery for 40 hours a week. I hated it but reflecting back I think it was due to management not the set up of the setting etc. I can tell you not how to run it lol!!!

I personally wouldn't return to day nursery unless it was my own however I am sure you'll do a fab job. Keep us updated.

Thanks SazzJ. I must admit I'm excited but quite daunted by the idea. As a teacher I'm going to have to adjust to working more hours but hopefully I'll be able to share holidays out as I have other very well qualified staff lined up to join us if it goes ahead. Plus my children are 2 and 5 and still need me!

I think I'm going to visit some day nurseries as I've made some good contacts through network meetings. I'll try and get some more ideas on managing staff rotas etc.