Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Bank Staff

Hi everyone,

I am new to this and this is my very first post so sorry if it is in the wrong area.

Just wondered if anyone could help me out with a little query. I have just taken over the management of a committee run Pre-School. This is my first role as manager and I want to get the staff on training courses so need to look at bank staff to cover shifts. We currently run at 4 staff all qualified to Level 3 and one working towards EYPS. Am I ok to advertise for unqualified bank staff or should I be looking for a minimum of a level 2?

Sure I will have lots more questions over the next few weeks so thanks for your help.

I would suggest that you go for at least a level 2 - if only for the fact that it's easier to get references related to childcare experience, if you have a person who has already completd a childcare qualification of some sort, which is important for your Safer Recuitment procedures..Also if these people are covering for your experienced and qualified staff it's useful if they have at least a some background knowledge. :o

Hi TC2000 and welcome, we have a minimum of three level threes at each session plus at least another 3 staff to thirty children.

I would generally like a minimum of a level 2, but a willingness to train and a wondeful rapport with the children would most certainly make someone a great contender. :o

You may find that from amongst your Parents and Grandparents that you have some willing helpers. Yes, I agree that it's nice to find qualified staff, but in the past I have recruited from amongst parents and they have gone on to do training and become totally committed to our Preschool.