Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Teacher To Mummy To Childminder (i Hope)

Hi there everyone

Havent been on here for ages due to christmas performances, church services, partys etc. I'm sure you know what i mean.

hat thought 'D SHARE WITH YOU is that my My Husband and I will be trying for a baby in the new year, (all of a sudden at the grand age of 33 I feel very grown up), i have butterflies in my stomach at the thought of the excitement of starting a family....or am i getting this confused with the added responsibility etc etc. But anyway....have recently been thinking about going down the childminding route after i have had our first baby, just so that i can carry on working in eyfs which i love (i am a rec teacher) and look after my own child which i am sure I would prefer to be doing. Was wondering if Iwould have to do a childminding course, and what Ihave to do to be able to childmind. HAS ANYONE GONE DOWN THIS ROUTE BEFORE...IF SO WOULD LOVE TO HEAR. Also do you think its a good idea to come out of teaching and not be using those skills.. Iwas thinking could do part time teaching and then two days C minding. Whast are others doing? Would love to hear your thoughts on this

Fom A very excfited Popcorn

xxxxx

How exciting - good luck with your baby making plans! :o I'm neither a teacher nor a childminder, but I know we have lots of members who are one or the other and hopefully they'll be long with some words of wisdom soon. xD

ooh how exciting!!

I'd suggest having a look on the National Childminding Association website - they have a "Is childminding for me?" publication that may answer some of your questions.

Ofsted guidelines are that you can be registered for 3 children in the Early Years age group, of these no more than one can be under 12 months old, so ask yourself if you'd want an active toddler around your young baby?