Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Elklan Training

Hi you knowledgeable fantastic bunch, i am part of a Elklan training programme starting in Jan 2011, i have been given a digital camcorder and have to film myself with a child interacting in any situation within the setting, or routine of the day. We will then take them back to our next training session for evaluation and discussion.

Any useful tips on filming, recording as i have never done this before would be greatfully received. :o

Edited by bridger

Sorry I don't have a tips on the filming - I didn't have to do that thanks goodness! But I just wanted to say I've found the Elklan training some of the very best I've been on in the last year or two. It's been really interesting, I've actually learnt something new as opposed to having my thinking reinforced, and it is so practical to apply. I would recommend it to anyone and I hope you enjoy it.

Hi bridger, I agree with holly, this will be fantastic for your staff development. Although I'm not familiar with the Elklan training as such, we do use a lot of videoing in our settings now to film interactions and support self reflection, and language development. Once people get over their nerves of being filmed and then having to talk about it, almost everyone feeds back very positively about the experience and where it has led their practice.

In terms of the actual filming, Id just spend some time getting used to how the camera works. Try it out in your setting first, then get whoever is going to film you to do the same. I find snack or meal times are a great 'first' part of the day to film but that's a personal favourite. It really can be anything that is natural to what you do (not contrived just for the camera)

Im sure we will look forward to hearing how you are getting on.

Firstly sorry for the spelling error well it is early "greatfully" "gratefully" whoops.