Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Christmas Party!

Hi wasnt sure where to list this!

we are just planning our childrens christmas party, but the committee have taken it over, they are now wanting to hold it as a fundraising event.

they have invited all parents at a cost, per ticket also other siblings and are expecting the staff to run the games etc.

they are planning to sell refreshments too... I have a slight mutinity on my hands as this always just been a staff run event, with no parents involved etc. they are saying now that they dont want to be there, because last they held a coffee afternoon a child who was in the care of her parent got something in her eye, and the parents blamed the staff saying they wern't watching her! and they feel it will be a repeat of this...

We have a totally new committee and I am new to the role, so don't now about this incident..

any thoughts would be good, or just how you operate yours?

Ta x

Hi, I run a day nursery, all children who attend the nursery are invited to the Christmas party; however if a child comes who doesn't normally attend on that day then a parent or carer has to stay with them. We don't have any fundraising going on as its a manic enough afternoon as it is with all hands on deck, we don't have any spare staff to man any fundraising activities!

Is it worth saying to your committee that you should concentrate on making the party magical for the children who attend your nursery/pre-school; they are your priority and responsibility? Remind them of what happened last year with the other child, pointing out that any siblings etc who come are not your responsibility, and that you don't have staff capacity to man fundraising activities; however if the committe want to look after any fundraising activies then you would think about it (bet they don't)

In my opinion a Christmas Party should be just that and not a fundraising event; can the committe organise that for another day?