Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Unpaid Training?

Just looking for a few opinions on this, I have been asked to undertake training one day of the weekend for 3 weekends, It is company policy thatwe do not get paid overtime at all and do not get time in-lieu back for extra training, I have already done a 20 hour course in the evening with no time back and regularly take my paperwork home off my own back but have said to my boss as i am a single parent I can not attend training on 3 weekend days (especially as it is unpaid as i wouldn't even beable to pay for childcare) which has now become a big issue to the point it is threatened traing for everyone will be cancelled because I am not attending causing tension between myself and my collegues.

Would they not pay your childcare costs even if they won't pay you or give you time off ? Is there no other time that the course is running or is this the only option. Its a difficult one really, as a manager I give my staff the time back or payment for courses outside of work hours, but understand that not all budgets can run to this. I assume your colleagues don't have children or are happy to train at weekends, but am sure they must see things your way also ?

I would not ask my staff to attend training for no pay, although I have considered saying that I won't pay for them to attend training they are doing for self-interest rather than because I need them to do it to support their job. But that's another story.

I can well understand that this is causing problems in your group - although I would have hoped colleagues might have been a little more understanding in recognising that you would find it very difficult to attend training at weekends. Your colleagues may well be happy to go out at weekends to train (I like a nice Saturday training myself), however not everyone is able (or wants) to attend training at weekends and that really must be respected.