Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

How To Get Started With Eyfs

:o hiya Im a newbie here- need some advice please on how to get started with EYFS from first day onwards ! I have four kids of my own, two at school ; one at preschool and a 2yr old. I was going to use my 2yrs to practice the obs/record keeping etc. Due an inspection in 6months and although I am looking activiel for more work thought that a practice run my apease the big 'O' lady. Have looked at various all about me stuff and 'learning journals' but dont know which to use . Some seem excessively pricey and I am still trying to get my head around what is practical to use with an already over stretched time frame - which I am sure all of you can relate to. Any advice on anything from organisation of paperwork to what to use will be most grateful.

many thanks xD

Welcome to the forum :)

Please don't panic you will be ok. You don't need to use expensive stuff I use a ring binder folder for my learning journey/story what ever you decide to call it. I stick photos and obs on A4 paper and keep it in the folder. I had Mrs O visit in Feb and she was happy with that. I use exercise books for daily diaries to go between home and myself for writing eat/sleep.details and other relevant information they can be brought in Asda/tescos.

Do you have a development worker or similiar in your area who can help you. We have development workers who come out and support you getting ready for Ofsted visit, they can show you planning templates and help with policy writing.

I have found this site very helpful. Good luck you will be fine.

Tink69

I think the most important things to focus on are

1) what information will you find useful?

2) what information do you want to share with the parents/will the parents want to see?

There is no point in keeping records which you will not use so think carefully about how you plan, then work out what information you need about the children to support that planning.