Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Daunted By Eyfs ...where Should I Start?

I am completely new to EYFS and now have to implement it quickly. (Ofsted)

We didn't even have a copy in school! :o

My pack has now arrived but, oh my goodness, where do I start???

I am completely overwhelmed... I need an action plan for idiots.

Please can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thank you

I am a tad confused. The EYFS was a statutory requirement that had to be implemented in Sept 2008, I dont understand why your school is just thinking about implementing now-what have they been using to plan for the children and how have they adhered to the welfare requirements. I would seriously think about contacting your Early Years Advisor for immediate assistance.

Claire x

Yes I think a phone call to your Advisor is the first thing you need to do so that s/he can come out straight away and help you assess what you need to do in your setting. Your advisor should be able to give you ongoing support and offer training. Are you in nursery or reception? If in Nursery then what goes on in reception, as they will have been competing the Early Years Profile for some years, so presumably have some EYFS knowledge to be able to do this, and all the guidance documentation. Does your TA have any training and what is going on with the children at present?

We are a PRU rather than a school and have, so far, been exempt from statutory EYFS, but they have decided that we now have to follow it.

Our children are only with us for an average of 6 weeks but I can't decide if that will help us or hinder us! :o

As you mentioned I am sure an adviser will be in touch pretty soon but I would like to make some start this week whilst not in school.

Thanks

Just to add -- we have R Y1 and Y2 in the class.

Edited by Guest