Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Decision Time

I've been childminding for 12+ years and thoroughly enjoying it BUT...

I'm now in the 2nd year fo my FD in Children's and Young People's Integrated Services. I signed up for it when the children I was caring for all started full time school and it seemed the "right" time, both for me and for my daughter who's now 15. Our home would be ours and not full of toddlers and toys when we both had homework to do.

However, one family then announced they were expecting and so I kept going and took on 2 new clients, too. :o

One family left last year which was, to be honest, a relief. I was able to manage without replacing the income and it gave me more free time.

Now the second family are looking to place their daughter in a nursery to take advantage of the 15 hours free funding. They've not given their 4 weeks notice but have forewarned me. I could register for NEF but have never wanted to in the past and don't feel that this would be the best thing for me at this moment in time.

SO.. my dilemma is whether to keep childminding for the 14mth old I have. She's lovely, parents are lovely and very supportive. They've told me to make my decision on what's right for me and mine but I'm torn xD

My heart tells me to carry on and advertise my vacancies but enquiries have been few and far between recently. Also, if I do take on new families, am I being fair knowing that I'd probably look to do something else when I've completed my FD? This would also be the year that my daughter sits her GCSE's and I can't quite picture how study leave is compatible with small children in the house.