Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

A Question For The More <ahem> Experienced Of You!

I have been doing some research into the historical context of planning for individual needs and interests and I have been directed to the Rumbold Report. Having read through it, I have found lots in there to support my essay but I am a tad confused about what came next!

In everything I have read so far, it seems that the report paved the way for the CGFS. However, in between the report being published and the CGFS being published, there were Desirable Learning Outcomes. So my question is, did the DLO's come about as a result of the recommendations from the Rumbold Report or was it the CGFS?

Also, before the DLO's, how was planning managed in settings? I didn't join the profession until 2000, and even then I was a student for a while (stop, start, stop, start) so didn't really have a working knowledge of the CGFS. Again though, through my reading it seems that settings were pretty much able to teach the children what they wanted but I am wondering how it was managed and if it was anything like we have to do now.

Thanks, I'll be interested to hear your views!

First came DLOs - very sketchy and just gave a programme of study - children must be taught to etc etc

Then Statutory Baseline I think.

Then CGFS

Then EYFSP - removing the need for statutory baseline

We could pretty much devise our own curriculum with little reference to what children had done before so there was often much replication in terms of activities and it was activity focused rather than learning focused.

Cx

Basically Catma has had my say for me! :o