Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

I'm Feeling Very Low. Negative Comments From Class Teacher.

Hi All,

I'm well and truly fed up i work in a pre school and also do a few hours in the schools EY unit im studying for my FDEY and have only been in the school since September, to get a few more hours in, but i've been told by another person that the class teacher has said im far to soft with the children!

This as all come about because an 4yr old was very upset and distressed at having to wear a costume and sit on the stage for our nativity, the class teacher bellowed at hm and this made matters worse, I tried to go for a comprimise and for him only to wear the tunic and not the hat, has this is what was causing the issue! I thought i'd dealt with it ok and everyone was happy but apperently not...

The way i work in the playgroup and have done for the last 10yrs is to reason with the child and not shout down at them but it would seem im wrong and have been for the past 10yrs...

I'm dreading tomorrow, im not brave enough to say something to her,

Do you think we should be harder on the children and shout at them.. Ive always gone for the positive behaviour route but am seriously doubting myself now and feeling very wounded...

sorry for the little moan

A wise old HT once said to me that shouting at children doesn't get you anywhere.

Shouting at children is a big no no and shows that you are unable to communicate effectively with them. From what you said, it doesn't seem as though the little boy had done anything wrong.

You don't want a relationship with your children based on fear, surely? I am calm with the children in my care and as a result they are happy well behaved children.

Stick to your guns!

ppp

Do you think we should be harder on the children and shout at them.. Ive always gone for the positive behaviour route but am seriously doubting myself now and feeling very wounded...