Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Reassurance Needed

Hi

I have been teaching Reception for 5 years and believe that in that time I have gotten pretty good at it. Its taken me a while to get my head around EYFS (and I don't think I have completely) but I know that I am giving the children a well rounded curriculum. My problem is I don't think the rest of the school do - in particular the year 1 teacher. She is also head of the infants (which includes me but I do all the work for foundation stage!) but has no interest in the reception children until she recieves them as year 1's. WE;ve been back at school for three weeks and I've had constant sniping about what i haven't done - mainly heinemann maths workbooks (ahhhhhhhh) and Oxford reading tree comprehension books (bigger aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah) because I don't believe that it benefits the children in any way especially in Year R we do lots of practical maths and record in other ways and when we read we do lots of talking about the text and find examples in texts etc - why doesn't this seem good enough. Am i right not to make my children sit down and complete pages of workbooks when they could be experiencing a greater learning? am i not right in encouraging a child to read if they are ready and able and show a good understanding of what they are reading or should i stunt this so that they can complete the assosiated work book just because thats what they will do in year 1? I wouldn't have a problem with any of her queries if she actually showed an interest in what we were doing and valued my knoweldge of the children but she isn't and its drivign me nuts! I would just like some reassurance that I am right not to be sitting my children down at desks and completing endless worksheets - help!

PS I will be talking to my headteacher about this and would like to show him your responses so it is 'not just me' saying it!

Thanks

Liz