Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Applying For A Job

Hello you clever people

I was wondering if any of you could give me some pointers please. I am thinking of applying for a part time job to complement my current role but it is quite a big job - a part time lecturer on FD at a local college but provided by a university. Small problem is that I really am stuck on how much to put on the application form in different boxes, who I should put as referee, etc! I got my current job when I already knew people there, your classic parent helper to worker at a playgroup scenario.

Under "Current role and duties" for example, how much detail to go into? I have pages at the end to write a supporting statement by the way. Also one referee is obviously my current manager, but the other is a puzzle. I didn't work before this job since I finished a temp job light years ago after uni. I was pregnant by the time I graduated and prior to that I did some really great jobs but no one who knew me there is still there. Also they were really part time holiday jobs, not real jobs if you know what I mean!

My big snag is lack of qualification in teaching adults, but I am very happy to do this if I got the job. And it only says "preferable". Also it does say they are looking for support staff from the profession too, so thinking I might go for that if they say no chance to the other! I know a suitable previous qualification locally was the 7307. Does anyone know what has replaced that or would be suitable? Am also thinking I might be willing to start an MA in the future.....

Thank you :o

Hi Holly, I'm also rubbish at this sort of thing but heres my two penn'th worth..

Firstly, does the referee have to be a previous or current employer?

Is there a space on the form for you to state what you've been doing since school? That should show you've been working, learning and being a parent.