Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Supporting Babies Walking

Hello,

First post so hopefully in the right place. I'm currently a student on placement in a 0-5 setting and working in babies room. Was chatting with aparent who was concerned that their daughter wasn't walking much (age 10mths) and wanted to know what they could do to support them.

I discussed having supervision for them to 'bridge walk' between sofas and other furniture at their height and talked about how each child will develop at their own pace but wondered if anyone had any links to artices or support that I could pass onto the parent.

Thanks all

Graham

Edited by Guest

Hi Graham, welcome to the forum. :oxD

Firstly I'd reasure the parent that 10 months is early to be walking anyway and not until around 18 months would anyone start to have concerns if there were little signs of walking.

Your suggestion that they 'bridge walk' is good but really, I'd be reasuring them that as soon as shes ready the child will suddenly let go and take some steps.

I'm with Rea. 10 months seems early to be walking and the stages of crawling etc. are very important. If the child is exploring by crawling or bottom shuffling, I would reassure them that this is appropriate for this age and walking will follow when the child is ready. I think I'd also warn them that their life will be far harder work when she is walking and able to reach everything in sight!

Gruffalo2 :o

thanks all.

I'll check childs age tomorrow as I'm second guessing myself now, might have got them 2 months off next room (16mths) rather than next birthday which was when babies changed in last placement. Obviously from the advice so far 14 mths is still a good age to be starting walking a little anyway.

As she has an older sister (4 and a bit) I wonder if parents are just comparing the history of one to the other.

Will let all know tomorrow

Edited by Guest