Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Compost, Is It Safe

Good evening everyone,

Could any of you knowledgeable people tell me whether compost is safe for the children to play with? One of my staff has said that they think that there is a lot of chemicals in it and the children should not be playing with it. I think that as we have been using it for several years to no adverse effect and the children are well supervised then I see no problems. What do you think?

Thanks

Lardylady

Nonsense. Fresh compost is fine to use and I have been doing so for many years and will continue to. I'm assuming you mean commercially available compost, although our children are currently making their own in our compost bin and I will certainly allow them to handle that when it's 'cooked'

It's an organic product, so there shouldn't be any chemicals in it at all. I don't think any compost makers add them anymore except for maybe feeds. If you go for peat free organic you are basically talking about mulched coconut fibre, bark, a bit of fully rotted material, so that is fine. Obviously you'd want them to wash their hands after using it. A bigger danger is cats soiling in the soil and then the children touching it.

We recently did an activity where we planted different seeds. It said on every packet of compost that it must not be used/handled by children, however we decided to go ahead with the activity ensuring each child wore gardening gloves and washed their hands well after the activity.

Debbie

Its like anything else isnt it, if you removed everything that could possibly ever cause a problem for a child, you'd never actually do anything.