Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Parachute Games

Hi

Sorry I wasn't sure where to put this but as I'm a childmidner, thought I'd put it there!

I am currently studying for the NVQ3 in CCLD and I have my assessor coming monday to observe a physical activity!

I'm really struggling what to do because all i have come up with is target practice with balls, running, balancing etc.

I'd really like to do parachute games and have just sent my hubby out to buy one however I am looking for inspirtation of what to do with it so thought I'd pick everyone's brains on here as well as googling it!

The sticking point I have is that I am a childminder so there will only be me, and 3 children aged between 3 1/2 and 5 1/2 so it needs to be something where we can lift and support the parachute between us.

I've found a few which involve us sitting down and crawling under the parachute so going to try these but would love some inspiration from you lovely people too.

Thanks Jennie

If you have a fairly small parachute you could cover it with leaves then throw them up in the air. Lots of lovely words like up, down, in, out etc involved.

Rolling a ball around in a circle by tipping the parachute is good for gross motor skills.

One of our favourite's is 'Grand Old Duke of York'.

We walk around holding the parachute with one hand in a circle marching, then we stop, turn, hold with both hands and lift 'up' 'down' and then 'half way' and discuss how half way is in-between up and down as we sing. Good maths vocab.

If you have a fairly small parachute you could cover it with leaves then throw them up in the air. Lots of lovely words like up, down, in, out etc involved.

Rolling a ball around in a circle by tipping the parachute is good for gross motor skills.