Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Teaching Rhyme

Hello

I have just become a member and there is so much useful stuff on this site!

I am in my second year of teaching and am in a Reception class. When I was doing my PGCE I remember reading lots of stuff that said it was very important that children could identify rhyming words and make up rhymes before they went on to trying to hear individual sounds in words. Has anyone got any good ideas about how to teach children to do this, as most of my class seem not to be able to identify rhyming words when I read them nursey rhymes?

I would be very grateful for any ideas!

Hi Swordfish and welcome aboard!

In my experience the identification of rhyming words is quite a difficult skill for children to acquire, although once they begin to understand or hear the rhymes there is no stopping them!

I have found that nursery rhymes are not an ideal medium, as in actual fact the rhyming words are often quite a long way apart. I bought 2 John Foster poetry collections and was amazed at how much more more successful this was. So I would suggest that good quality children's poetry is the way to go!

Have fun.

i found that chidlren enjoyed it when we made up silly rhyming wrods to their names like sophie-tofie, greg-peg, jill-bill, rob- cob you get my drift and then we spoke about how the words sounded the same. The i foiund that using numnbers for rhying words was goo so it was "number 1 pass the bun" number 2 have some glue (they could always think of something more disgusting to rhyme with 2 (p**))their fav was "number 9 have some wine".

we did this quite often and informally and the chidlren enjoyed it as they were active participants.