Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Preschool Room Set Out

Hello, I've just taken over a 3-5 room in a day nursery after being off on mat leave and was previously in the baby unit. This means I have little experience of this age group and since my manager is not so helpful I thought i'd ask you as you are!

I need to change my room round as I've noticed in the last two weeks that some areas of the room are hardly used and others seam too small (home corner)

My question is it there an ideal layout for a preschool room, what areas should be together? I'm considering moving the mark making area next to the art/sensory would this be too much in one area??? Also I've been told I have a discovery area, which as the moment consists of a laptop, a broken phone, some linking fish and 2d shapes. This doesnt seem right to me but I'm unsure what should and shouldn't be there!!

Any advice will be great

Thanks

Hmm, I'm with you on this one! We re-jig the room layout every now and then to encourage children to go into areas that they may not previously go. As long as you keep quiet areas together, things like book corner, jigsaws etc. and messy areas near to a sink, and try not to block walkways (as you will know anyway)

I'd scrap the discovery bit for now, see if they miss it, and then ask them to bring things in for it. If there's no interest just put a twig in a jam jar with some magnifying glasses and see what happens. Maybe introduce some cress or carrot tops later....

our basic areas

home corner

drawing table

floor play (small world manly but a big pile of lego always seems to work better on the floor)

construction table

book corner

puzzles ans games (which becomes a work table)

messy area

learing Zone (Which is for table top, math, language, motor activities)

i think it is so important to feel you can give things a gig around.

our construction and small world are close so the children can extend there own play makinging houses for animals and the like